ALCF’s Michael Papka Wins Pinnacle of Education Award – High-Performance Computing News Analysis

Michael Papka, ALCF

October 5, 2022 – Michael E. Papka, Deputy Associate Laboratory Director at the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory and Director of the Argonne Leadership Computing Facility (ALCF), has been recognized by the Council of 2022 Argonne Governors’ Pinnacle of Education Award for his dedication and contributions to science education outreach activities aimed at inspiring young people.

“I’m truly honored to receive this award,” said Papka, who is also a professor of computer science at the University of Illinois at Chicago. “In my role at Argonne and UIC, I know how important it is to train the next generation of scientists and engineers. By providing fun learning experiences and mentoring students from the start, we can show them how exciting and rewarding a career in science can be. »

Since assuming the leadership of the ALCF in 2010, Papka has launched several computer science summer camps for local middle and high school students, including Coding for Science Camp, Big Data Camp, and most recently a camp focused on artificial intelligence with colleagues from Northern University of Illinois.

All camps are conducted in collaboration with Argonne Education Programs staff and other Argonne volunteers around computer science topics. The programs are designed to introduce children to computational thinking skills through hands-on coding and data analysis activities and interactions with professional researchers.

“Mike’s track record of creating STEM experiences for students that foster computer skills and highlight the work and mission of Argonne Research, helps create a strong pipeline of opportunities in Argonne at the high school and beyond,” said associate lab director Rick Stevens. for computing, environment and life sciences.

In addition to his roles at Argonne, Papka has been teaching computer science to students for over a decade. Prior to joining UIC, he was the Presidential Research, Fellowship, and Art Professor of Computer Science at Northern Illinois University.

Comments are closed.