Education actors: 12/20/2021 | Local news

  • Heather Hennrick recently received her Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Clinical Psychology from Eastern Michigan University. Hennrick is the daughter of Ken and Maswe Hennrick, of Traverse City.

Hennrick is currently working as a postdoctoral fellow in pediatric neuropsychology at the Orange County Children’s Hospital in Orange, California. She assesses children whose medical condition affects the functioning of the central nervous system and who often have difficulty thinking, learning and processing.

  • Nicholas Ceglarek recently received the Distinguished Alumni Award from Grand Valley State University. Ceglarek attended / graduated in the 1990s and is now Superintendent of Northwestern Education Services, formerly of the Traverse Bay Area Middle School District in Traverse City.

He taught instructional leadership and special education as an assistant professor at GVSU and helped develop a regional cohort for West Michigan leaders who enrolled in the Education Specialist degree program. of the GVSU. Ceglarek is a founding board member of Hand2Hand, a non-profit program that provides food for children on weekends.

  • The Crawford AuSable Excellence in Education Foundation recently reached $ 1 million in donations, which will benefit students in the Crawford AuSable School District. Board member Roger Kesseler recently donated over $ 3,000 to the nonprofit foundation in memory of his wife Phyllis. The Kesseler family designated CAEEF as a memorial to Phyllis in July, and nearly $ 35,000 was received in her memory.
  • Ian Rakunas, of Traverse City, recently received a scholarship from Baldwin Wallace University. Rakunas, a vocal performance major, won the J. Everton and Mary Louise Houston scholarship.
  • Northwestern Michigan College recently announced the recipients of the 2021 Outstanding Alumni Award.

Alex Brace, an engineering graduate in 2017, received his bachelor’s degree in engineering from the University of Michigan and is working towards a doctorate. at the University of Chicago. His research teams at Oak Ridge and Argonne National Laboratories won the 2020 Gordon Bell Prize for discoveries linked to the infection of cells with the COVID-19 virus.

Amanda Kiessel, a 1995 graduate, studied at Boston University, Brandeis University and the University of California-Santa Cruz. She completed a doctorate. in agroecology and sustainable food systems. She helped create Good Market, a platform for businesses, cooperatives and community organizations around the world.

Clifford McClain, associate in arts in 1971, received degrees from the University of Idaho and a doctorate. from the University of Nebraska. He has taught and directed state programs in Wyoming, Nebraska, and Idaho and was a faculty member at the University of Nevada-Las Vegas from 1988 to 2015. He was honored as an educator technical and professional of the year 2015-2016.

Cindy Warner, from 1980 to 1983, was the global leader in cloud advisory services for Amazon Web Services. She has worked at IBM and FedEx and has served as an advisor to GE, Microsoft and HP, among other global clients. She currently sits on the Michigan Strategic Fund within the Michigan Economic Development Corporation.

  • The Northwest Michigan Section of the Military Officers Association of America awarded seven college scholarships to northern Michigan students at its annual Christmas gala. The beneficiaries are the children or grandchildren of an active or retired military member in uniform, National Guard or reserves or they are members of the MOAA.

This year’s recipients: Caroline Ducharme, Elk Rapids High School student, $ 1,000; Daniel Smith, St. Mary’s Cathedral School in Gaylord, $ 1,000; Elizabeth Kucharek, Grayling High School, $ 750.

Community College / Technical School Winners: Lane Cool, Kalkaska High School / Career-Tech Center, $ 750; Marissa Kohler, Suttons Bay High School / NMC, $ 500.

Returning MOAA researchers: Olivia Lowe, 2020 Leland High School graduate attending Hope College; and Evan Renn, a 2020 Grayling High School graduate attending the University of Michigan. Both receive $ 500.

Comments are closed.