Jefferson County Board of Education announced new principals

By Vallean Jackson, For La Tribune

JEFFERSON COUNTY — The Jefferson County School Board held a mandatory public board meeting on Thursday, May 5 to recognize scholarship recipients, announce new principals, and approve recommendations listed by the superintendent and other board members.

Kelley-Ann Parson, a representative from Curriculum Associates, which sponsored the Regional Superintendent of the Year Scholarships, presented the SSA Superintendent of the Year Scholarships. The program aims to pay it to those who are on the path of education. Anthonique Booker of Irondale Middle School won the administrative scholarship totaling $1,000 and Jaden Prewett of Corner High School won the student scholarship totaling $1,000 for their academic journeys at Montevallo University as well as their pursuit as future educators .

“As a graduate of Montevallo, I really wanted to congratulate you,” President Carita Venable said.

Superintendent Dr. Walter Gonsoulin expressed his joy as he revealed that almost a hundred students participated in Teacher Appreciation Week to recognize the hard work and dedication of their teachers. Continuing on from the good things that have happened, career technology students for the district, which is a combination of all high schools. Set a record with 89 students qualifying for the national competition. They will compete across the country in Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas or Sacramento, and 11 of the 13 schools have student-athletes competing in track and field.

The board announced four new principals who are expected to serve for the next school year. The mix of men and women to replace those retiring includes:

  • Aisha Bryant will replace Donna King at Brighton School from June 1;
  • Dr. Loni Hodge will be the principal of Grantswood Community School, replacing Bryant as of June 1;
  • Michael Bissell will be principal of Chalkville Elementary, replacing Rod Johnson, beginning July 1; and
  • Brandi Wilson will be the principal of Kermit Johnson Elementary replacing Dr. Hodge, beginning July 1.

In addition, JEFCOED has approved the following:

  • Tender for lawn care in Brighton;
  • The cafeteria uniform supply;
  • The price of parent-teacher communication kits;
  • Concord’s lawn care offering; and
  • The Oak Grove Elementary Lawn Care Offering.

“Out of approximately 35,000 students, we want the best for all of our students,” Gonsoulin said. “Sometimes there may be a target on our backs, but the goal of keeping students and their education is always front and center.”

The next special meeting of the board of directors will take place on Tuesday, May 10 and the next regular meeting of the board of directors will take place on Thursday, May 26 at 10 a.m.

Comments are closed.